2 widths, 2 dips but only one C

Leave a comment

12/04/2011 by Carl Reynolds

A guest entry from Mrs Aquatic Ape

Unusually Carl had to work today – not perhaps that unusual, but it is unusual for me to swim without him, so I took my 15 year old son who had promised he’d come as part of my Mothers Day present. Thankfully the sun/son were both shining as we met poolside with big C and 2 of his girls along with Tom who had also come for a quick dip.

My son strode swiftly down the steps without hesitation and launched into a rapid width of front crawl before stopping to gasp for breath, returning rather more leisurely. I felt immensely proud of him. The girls stood on the side deciding the best way to get in, before launching themselves bravely into the water and racing to the steps to get out. I did a couple of widths, paid attention to maternal duties before doing a further 8 lengths, rather interrupted by the rope of dinghy moored across the water allowing the lifeguard onboard to vigorously scrub the bottom of the pool.

Big C joined me in the sauna and confessed that swimming without his buddy meant he lacked motivation. I have to confess I missed him too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 240,322

Archives

