brrr

Leave a comment

28/11/2011 by Carl Reynolds

 

The thermometer reads 7.5 degrees C, there was a light frost last night, there is no sun. The crew we meet at the lido have been in and are shivering. They say it is much colder. One degree makes a difference. We find ourselves disinclined to swim. I’d also forgotten my flip flops and the thought of cold concrete underfoot does nothing to motivate me into the water. But I change nonetheless and get straight in, thinking that as I’d done 3000 yards yesterday, I must be able to do at least a mile. I see Kate swimming length after length, and as she’s not been in since Friday, I am full of admiration and a desire not to wimp out. I do 2000 yards. Like yesterday the first few seem to take ages. I think it’s because this is when I feel the cold grab me, and once I’ve done a few hundred metres I am numb. The sauna is a welcome relief from the cold. I stay in until I’m sweating and have a nice chat with Liz, Annie and Kate.

Ape – 2000 yards, Mrs Ape – 1000 yards – 7.5 degrees C.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 242,203

Archives

