quackers

Leave a comment

30/01/2012 by Carl Reynolds

Quack Quack and Mrs Ape leave the lido. Time to let QQ play in warm water. And return home away from the gaze of those who left him in Tooting and inserted an imposter into the SLSC Latvia team. You know who you are – shame on you!

The pool is below 4 degrees and I prophesize that it’ll be iced in parts by Friday.  Felt colder than I have for a long time. Managed to get the breathing under control straight off by ensuring that I exhaled for three strokes – it works. I seem to be countering an impulse to gasp, but by pushing the feeling to the periphery of my attention, I suppressed it. Hands very numb coming up to 500 yards and immediately dispelled any notion of doing a kilometre. Swam back at the end of six to join Mrs Ape, but she turned, hence the extra two and a bit. A little wobbly. Liz had to take my hat off and it was a minute or two before my hands were dextrous enough to extract my earplugs. Nice and toasty by the time we left though.

Ape – 833 yards, Mrs Ape – 600 yards. 3.5 degrees C.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 239,014

Archives

