and more sun

Leave a comment

20/03/2012 by Carl Reynolds

But not a lot of extra temperature. I read just over 8 degrees C before I dropped the thermometer into the pool. I recovered it at the end of my first length and read 8.5 degrees C at the bottom of the deep end, but I have no idea if it is warmer or colder in the depths, than near the surface. Met Nando again for a long ‘un, but felt reluctant. I said to him and Alex that I’d probably just do a mile. But then I thought I might as well do 2km, and before I knew it had decided to do 30 lengths or 3000 yards. The sun’s patterns was mesmerising on the base of the pool and I did slip into an alternate consciousness now and again. I’d decided to go a little slower today and focus on my stroke. I think the concentration made it worse. I recall a teacher once saying that when you break down a skill that is in the muscle, it can often set you back for a while. We’ll see. In the meantime, I’m booked into a swim clinic with Ray Gibbs of Swim Canary Wharf for some feedback. He comes recommended.

Ape – 3000 yards (2.74km), 8.5 degrees C

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 232,002

Archives

