a chilly dozen

6

07/11/2012 by Carl Reynolds

Nando dives

On the bike today, as Mrs Ape is at work. Arrived to a logistical chat with Margy about our  Polar Bear sub-club (1km under 5 degrees C); Sue about the Lido I-Spy book she’s putting together; Jonathan was strumming, so we recorded him for Nando and The Ape; and Jenny arrived with a big grin on her chops. Nando and I were on a schedule, so he did his usual dive in; whilst I did the Stanton Cross for ten yards or so and then eased myself in. It’s down to 7C and it was only last Saturday that I managed a measly 30 yards. Yesterday I did 800 yards, so decided to do a round dozen lengths – just over a kilometre. Again, I felt like I could do more at the end, but am keeping my counsel and taking it bit by bit. I’m off overseas working on Saturday for nine days, so want to bag my November mile before the weekend. And then I’ll have to reacclimatise all over again, unless the lake in Bariloche is chilly. I hope it is.

6 thoughts on “a chilly dozen

  1. Rebecca says:

    Cheers Carl I found calender.
    Went in an 8 c pool today OMG! I’d forgotten what a difference those few degrees make. I’m glad I have ‘The Apes’ and friends to show me it can be done with a little perseverance. TA ;P

  2. Alex says:

    Beautiful picture. Love the glassy reflection on the water (soon to be shattered). I’m sure you’ll manage the mile.

  3. Nando Cuca says:

    C’mon weather. Can we get a little colder faster please!! I want to get my official Polar Bear cap before I go to Rio!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 242,203

Archives

