mile at 6

Leave a comment

29/11/2012 by Carl Reynolds

Met up with Nando, Big C got stuck in traffic, and the breakfast crew were vanishing to work and other pursuits. The lifeguards’ thermometer says six degrees C. It’s dropped in the near-freezing night and we know it’s going to be a challenge. I tell Nando I’ll stay in as long as he does. He’d brought a Polar Bear hat in case it’d dropped to 5…maybe by the weekend. But I got chatting to Liz and before I’d even got my trousers off, Nando was in and off. The sun was out, but not on the water, but oddly it did not feel as cold as previous days as I got in. A kilometre should prove easy I thought; break it down to two lots of six lengths. At twelve hundred yards, I spied Nando out, but felt good, so resolved to go on for the mile – another six lengths. The penultimate 200 yards were a little odd, but I was both able to talk and remove earplugs on exit, so I knew I’d be OK.

Meanwhile all around us the odd swimmer was dipping and splashing, but we were drawn to the shrieks of one, who later introduced herself as Debbie. And then we all retired to the cafe, with Chris Gore and nattered over toast and coffee. And did the washing up!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address in the box below,
then click Follow to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

Places to swim etc

Hits

  • 240,322

Archives

